The Seven Foundations of Health - Four Fitnesses, Love and Adventure, Significance | happyliving.com

Health is a state of complete harmony of the body, mind and spirit. When one is free from physical disabilities and mental distractions, the gates of the soul open.
(B.K.S. Iyengar)

We are on a mission to improve the health and wellbeing of the world, one person at a time. And to work toward that mission, we have defined what health means to us.

Health is more than a body that’s free from disease. Rather, it is a daily practice and a life-long journey. Health is a relationship – with one’s self, others, and the world.

The seven foundations of health are:

  • Physical Fitness
  • Mental Fitness
  • Spiritual Fitness
  • Financial Fitness
  • Love
  • Adventure
  • Significance

The Base – Four Fitnesses

Physical Fitness is what might first come to mind when thinking about health. It is crucial to maintain the health of our bones, muscles, and organs. Physical fitness includes exercise, nutrition, and sleep, as well as important health maintenance like diagnostics, blood work, and doctor’s visits.

Mental Fitness is often referred to as mental health. Even though it’s not as “tangible” as physical fitness, it is just as vital. In addition to caring for mental illness, mental fitness includes meditation, goal setting, creativity, lifelong learning, and the pursuit of hobbies.

Spiritual Fitness is the connection between our inner self and something greater. It can be faith-based, found through meditation, or observed through science. It is cultivated with a community or alone, and it is something we can always come back to no matter how much time has passed.

Financial Fitness is being able to provide for oneself and for others. It includes living within one’s means, in alignment with one’s priorities, and in way that does not put financial strain on savings. It is becoming informed and educated about finances, and giving when possible.

The Center – Love & Adventure

Love is essential to a healthy life. It breathes peace into quiet moments. It helps us persevere through tough times. It gives meaning to relationships. It’s what pushes us to pursue our passions. Self-love is just as important to happy living as loving others. Without it, we cannot offer our best to those around us or to the work we do. Love provides us with purpose, happiness, and joy.

Adventure is not just about being extreme. It is opening to new possibilities, embarking on unchartered territory, and welcoming new discoveries. Adventure can happen close to home or far away, it can be a state of mind or an epic getaway. We recommend a safe and moderate practice of adventure, over the duration of a lifetime.

The Peak – Significance

Significance is a key to happiness and good health. We add meaning to our lives through the pursuit of significance. It is a daily practice in prioritizing those things that are most important. Significance is dedicating your time, work, and life to something of great meaning.

Focusing on gratitude, acting with purpose, and pursuing your dreams are all ways to practice significance. For more inspiration, check out our Something Significant interview series.

These Seven Foundations of Health are at the heart of our work here at Happy Living. Our research and blog posts, retreats and health challenges, are guided by these principles. We hope this inspires you to examine how each foundation plays an important role in your health and wellbeing!